July 18, 2006
Latin, Ranchera, Norteño, Tejano, Corrido, Mexican Traditions

Album Review

As the Mexican community becomes more and more vocal and its traditional music becomes more and more common in the U.S., it makes perfect sense that more and more compilations highlighting norteño, corrido, ranchera, and Tejano are made available. One such of these is Duranguenses Pa' Bailar. With just ten songs, it's a short album, but the track choices are consistently good and represent much of the best of what there is to offer. Chicago-based bands Grupo Montez de Durango and Autoridad de la Sierra each have one song, "De Durango a Chicago" and "Polka la Polvadera," respectively, as well as K-Paz de la Sierra ("La Movidita") and Los Horoscopes de Durango ("La Ampolleta"). Duranguenses Pa' Bailar is a contemporary album with a good, consistent beat made for dancing.
Marisa Brown, Rovi

Track Listing

  1. De Durango a Chicago
  2. La Ampolleta
  3. La Movidita
  4. El Capiro
  5. Pantalon Vaquero
  6. Vidita Mi
  7. Polka La Polvadera
  8. La Yaquecita
  9. El Rodeo
  10. Traicionera
Go back to previous page