October 17, 2000
Rap, East Coast Rap, Golden Age, Hardcore Rap

Album Review

One of the first in a long line of East Coast hardcore rappers, Kool G Rap was nevertheless overshadowed by premiere players like Rakim, Chuck D., and his labelmate Big Daddy Kane. The Landspeed label rectified the matter somewhat with the release of the two-disc Kool G Rap & DJ Polo retrospective The Best of Cold Chillin', which includes 19 tracks, all but one from the duo's prime of 1988 to 1992. Beginning with their first recording, 1984's "I'm Fly," the set begins with a disc including several rare tracks -- "Rikers Island," and "Rhyme Tyme," previously released on the 1996 quasi-collection Rated XXX -- and half a dozen tracks from their debut Road to the Riches, including raging tracks like "Men at Work" and the title track. Moving from tracks produced by Cold Chillin' boss Marley Marl to more finessed productions from Large Professor and Eric B., the second disc focuses on Kool G Rap & DJ Polo's sophomore Wanted: Dead or Alive with hardcore seminal cuts like "Streets of New York," "Money in the Bank," and the title track.
John Bush, Rovi

Track Listing

  1. I'm Fly
  2. It's a Demo
  3. Rikers Island
  4. Rhyme Tyme
  5. Poison
  6. Road to the Riches
  7. Truly Yours
  8. Men at Work
  9. Butcher Shop
  10. Streets of New York
  11. Money in the Bank
  12. Bad to the Bone
  13. Wanted: Dead or Alive
  14. Talk Like Sex
  15. Erase Racism
  16. Ill Street Blues
  17. On the Run [Remix - Al Capone Version][Version]
  18. F*ck U Man
  19. Letters
Go back to previous page