February 28, 1995
Sony Music Distribution
Pop/Rock, Alternative Pop/Rock, Alternative/Indie Rock

Album Review

For his first solo album, Mike Watt assembled a different band for each track, creating a veritable who's who of post-punk and alternative rock -- Eddie Vedder, Dave Grohl, Thurston Moore, J Mascis, Frank Black, Evan Dando, Dave Pirner, Henry Rollins, Flea, Lee Ranaldo, Mike D, and Pat Smear all appear, among others. Predictably, the sound is somewhat schizophrenic, but no more so than the average Minutemen album. Ball-Hog or Tugboat? is more polished than anything the Minutemen released, yet looser than fIREHOSE, filled with jazz-inflected breaks and sheer sonic freakouts, but dominated by a surprisingly large number of pop songs. On the power pop rush of "Piss-Bottle Man," Dando sings with more emotion than on most Lemonheads records, and "Chinese Fire Drill" shows an effective folky side to Watt's music. And Watt's own vocals on "Big Train" are as big-hearted, sly, and funny as the album itself.
Stephen Thomas Erlewine, Rovi

Track Listing

  1. Big Train
  2. Big Train
  3. Against the 70's
  4. Against the 70's
  5. Drove up from Pedro
  6. Drove up from Pedro
  7. Piss-Bottle Man
  8. Piss-Bottle Man
  9. Chinese Firedrill
  10. Chinese Firedrill
  11. Intense Song for Madonna to Sing
  12. Intense Song for Madonna to Sing
  13. Tuff Gnarl
  14. Tuff Gnarl
  15. Sexual Military Dynamics
  16. Sexual Military Dynamics
  17. Max and Wells
  18. Max and Wells
  19. E-Ticket Ride
  20. E-Ticket Ride
  21. Forever - One Brother's Opinion
  22. Forever - One Brother's Opinion
  23. Song for Igor
  24. Song for Igor
  25. Tell 'Em, Boy!
  26. Tell 'Em, Boy!
  27. Sidemouse Advice
  28. Sidemouse Advice
  29. Heartbeat
  30. Heartbeat
  31. Maggot Brain
  32. Maggot Brain
  33. Coincidence Is Either Hit or Miss
  34. Coincidence Is Either Hit or Miss
purchase full album
Go back to previous page